More accolades for decorated cricket club

Two Wells Cricket Club featured strongly across the board at association level at this season’s end of year presentation held at Craigmore Cricket Club on Tuesday March 30.

Club players received trophies in all grades for bowling, fielding and wicket keeping in both the men’s and women’s competitions in the Para Districts Cricket Association for season 2020/21.

The men’s competition trophies were presented the following night at St Kilda Hotel.

Taking home association trophies this season in the Under 12 competition was Michael Daly (wicket keeping), Ethan Edwards (bowling), Logan Clifton (fielding) and Curtis Clifton (fielding).

For the Under 14s Blake Harris stood out, taking home the fielding trophy, while in the Under 16 competition awards went to Mitchell Boobyer (bowling, 16 wickets), Travis Robertson (wicket keeping), Samuel Harnas (bowling, 16 wickets) and Matthew Evers (fielding, nine catches).

In the women’s competition, Hayley Matthews was named player of the association for Under 16 girls, with Leanne Pool joint association winner for wicket keeping and Kayhla Warren joint association winner for bowling.

Blake Hamilton won the senior men’s association fielding trophy, taking 11 catches this season.

Congratulations to all trophy winners.

Grand Finals

Two Wells Cricket Club had two teams take part in grand finals this season.

Unfortunately both teams lost.

The Under 16s took on Salisbury West on Saturday March 27, chasing 4/172 but all out for 79, while the men’s team faced Dublin at Dublin.

The senior side battled hard to meet the Dublin target of 157 runs but fell just short at 120.

Well done to both teams for a great season on the field.

Leave a Reply