Wakefield Electorate Background

wakefield electorate 2011 map

The Wakefield electorate is named after Edward Gibbon Wakefield, whose ideas for the ideal structure of a colonial society were the basis for the colonisation of South Australia.

Wakefield was traditionally a rural electorate, and had been won by Labor only twice between 1903 and 2004. An electoral determination based on population statistics, ahead of the 2004 election, caused South Australia to lose a seat, that of the safe Labor seat of Bonython, reducing SA to 11 seats.

The subsequent redistribution drew Wakefield into the northern suburbs of Adelaide, taking in large parts of the abolished Bonython seat, thus transforming Wakefield from a safe Liberal rural seat to a more marginal urban/rural mixed electorate.

This new “mixed” Wakefield was first contested in 2004 as a marginal Labor electorate, and was defended by casino online Labor’s sitting Bonython MP, Martyn Evans.

He was defeated at the 2004 election by Liberal David Fawcett, who in 2007 lost to Labor’s Nick Champion as the Rudd government was elected to office. Mr Champion also held the seat in 2010.

According to the 2011 Census profile, Wakefield electorate has the nation’s third highest proportion of workforce employees in manufacturing, lowest proportion of residents with university qualifications, and third highest proportion of single parent families. It also has SAs highest proportion of children aged 0-4.

Leave a Reply